MEA CULPA

Recalibrating.

When I started this daily writing project, I had it in my mind that difficulties would spring up along the way. While I had plenty of topics ready to go, and figured that I could pretty easily carve out a half hour per day to write about them (the 28 minutes of writing, plus 2 minutes to grab a snack before starting), I also knew that it wouldn’t be a walk in the park. My mom put it this way: “It’s a great idea, but… why right now?”

My mom was right. I’m now into the second week of the Bachelor of Education program at UOIT, and as such, I have lots of new tasks and routines to get used to. Returning to school for the first time in a while, with the goal of becoming the best teacher I can be, is a lot of work. So she’s right, it maybe isn’t the best time to take on a daily project like this – and looking back over the past 10 days or so, it’s obvious that I haven’t been able to keep to my desired daily schedule.

So this is a mea culpa, of sorts. An admission of the need to recalibrate.

From the outset, the goal of the project was to provide an avenue for self-improvement in the areas of motivation and self-discipline. I am working to develop the routines of a person who wakes up early in the morning, laser-focused on a ever-evolving and curated priority list, working quickly and efficiently to knock off tasks from the top down. I have always known it to be the case that this goal is one that is never truly attained – that striving for efficiency and constant prioritization in life will always be a work-in-progress. However, falling behind with this specific task has demonstrated that truth to me in bold. And it is a clear indication that I still have pleeeennnnty of room for improvement in my two targeted fields.

My point with this short update is to say (of course, to everyone who has been so kind to read my writing thus far, but most importantly, to myself) that this project will continue. Whether it returns to being daily remains to be seen – with the daily goal, I may have stretched myself a bit too far. But I can say that it will continue to be prioritized near the top of my list. Furthermore, I can also say with certainty that it is my intention that the days where I don’t publish only come about due to a surplus of higher priorities, rather than a deficit of motivation and hard work.

The meaning of “#500in28” still stands. I am still aiming to write 500 words in 28 minutes. The dual meaning of twenty-eight (doing so for 28 consecutive days) has now been blowed up good. But I will continue nonetheless.

IMG_20170912_163050.jpg
UOIT Faculty of Ed.

This post is the eighth installment in my month-long project, #500in28. For the next 28 days, I’ll be spending 28 minutes a day writing 500 words. See here for my first post explaining the project.

Leave a Reply

